Windows 7 and Office 2010 day 2…


Thanks to a huge response to my previous post Windows 7 and Office 2010 day 1… I decided I should keep up the momentum. I’m off to work at a client site a long way from my office tomorrow, so today was about ensuring everything I need to do my job remotely works. A quick description in four words could be either “no need to panic” or “great it just works” or  “why did I wait?”. Needless to say, I am still loving the new tools of the trade.

First thing I needed to do was install a few applications. I thought I might have a few issues as my Windows 7 is  the 64bit edition. Visio, Acrobat Reader, UltraVNC and Citrix Client all installed as expected with absolutely no problems. Connecting to printers hosted on a Windows 2008 File and Print server, painless.

Next step was to try out Word 2010. I opened a 76 page document with created in Word 2007 with large graphics, complicated formatting, table of contents, multiple sections and Excel objects. Initially I was not happy as the paragraph spacing had changed, then I realised that our custom font wasn’t installed. Installing the font resolved all the issues. I printed the document and compared with the same document printed from Word 2007, absolutely identical. Word 2010 is more responsive than Word 2007 in every area I tried. Printing options are a good improvement making common functions like printing multiple pages per page simple.

Excel 2010 is one application that really benefits from being 64bit. Excel has been my favourite application since the Windows 3.1 days. This version is awesome. The sales guff says it will handle enormous amounts of data, so I thought I’d test it out. I created an ODBC data source to our SQL 2005 server and set about importing data. The performance is just incredible, 1850 rows imported in the blink of an eye. Lets go for something larger, 38,000 rows of data, awesome! Right time for a pivot table and some graphs. Again speed was blazingly fast. Checking the memory used by Excel was a pleasant surprise, no massive RAM blow out. Excel is a class product and this version will give rocket scientists and accounts a good reason to jump for joy (if accountants do that kind of thing).

Windows 7 was solid as a rock and so fast I was able to leave work an hour early (well I would have if I wasn’t struggling with a Reporting Services issue). So at the end of day two, it’s two thumbs up. Tomorrow I will test Windows 7 and Office 2010 on an international flight, should be a good test of the power management and wireless in the airport lounge. Details in the next post…Windows 7 and Office 2010 day 3

2 comments

  1. Sorry to any Accountants offended by my jump for joy statement. This is part of a long standing joke I have with an Accountant mate, the joke has been running for nearly 20 years and I still find it funny and he doesn’t…

Leave a Reply

